Denzel Washington-Biography, Career & Successes, Net Worth

Denzel Washington

Denzel Washington Biography

On December 28, 1954, Denzel Hayes Washington Jr. was born in Mount Vernon, New York. He is the middle of three children of Lennis, a beauty parlor owner and operator, and Denzel Washington Sr., a Pentecostal minister. His mother’s maiden name was Beavers.

Till 1968, Washington attended Mount Vernon’s Pennington-Grimes Elementary School. His mother enrolled him in Oakland Military Academy in New Windsor, New York, a private preparatory school, when he was 14 years old as a result of his parents’ divorce.

Washington revealed in an interview with Ebony magazine that he initially decided against pursuing a career in acting because he “didn’t want to be one of those poor black actors who had to play stereotypes.” However, he changed his mind after watching Sidney Poitier in The Defiant Ones (1958). He then attended main campus at Fordham University in the Bronx, where he majored in history. While at Fordham, he played collegiate level basketball for the Rams under coach Pee Wee Kirkland.

After graduating from college in 1976, Washington spent several years as a member of the Marine Corps Reserve before moving to San Francisco to pursue an acting career. He began his acting career with small roles on television shows such as CBS’ The Equalizer (1985). His film debut came in For Queen & Country (1988), but it was not until 1989 that he began to gain mainstream attention with starring roles in Spike Lee’s

Personal Life

Washington’s first acting role was in the television series “Stir Crazy” in 1977. He made his film debut in the 1981 film “Carbon Copy”. Washington’s breakout role was in the film “A Soldier’s Story” (1984). He has since starred in numerous films including “The Mighty Quinn” (1989), “Mo’ Better Blues” (1990), “Malcolm X” (1992), “The Pelican Brief” (1993), “Philadelphia” (1993), “Devil in a Blue Dress,” “Courage Under Fire,” “Remember the Titans,” “Training Day,” for which he received an Academy Award for Best Actor, “Inside Man,” and “Courage Under Fire” (all from 1996).

Washington has directed two films, both of which were released in 2002: “Antwone Fisher”, which he also produced, and “#1 with a Bullet”. He has also produced a number of films including the 2013 biographical drama film about James Brown, entitled Get On Up.

Career and Accomplishments

Washington’s first film role came in 1977 with the film Wilma. He has since appeared in over 40 films, including The Mighty Quinn (1989), Malcolm X (1992), Philadelphia (1993), The Pelican Brief (1993), Courage Under Fire (1996), Crimson Tide (1995), Remember the Titans (2000), John Q (2002), American Gangster (2007) and Flight (2012). He has also starred in such television shows as St. Elsewhere and NYPD Blue. In addition to his work as an actor, Washington has also directed films such as Antwone Fisher (2002) and The Great Debaters (2007).

Washington has won numerous awards for his work as an actor, director and producer, including two Academy Awards, a Golden Globe Award, a BAFTA Award and an Emmy Award. He is also a recipient of the Kennedy Center Honors.

Awards and Honors Received by Denzel Washington

Denzel Washington has received numerous awards and honors over the course of his career. In 2002, he was awarded the Academy Award for Best Actor for his role in the film Training Day. He has also won two Golden Globe Awards, one for Best Actor in a Motion Picture Drama for his role in Flight and one for Best Supporting Actor in the film Glory. He has been nominated for four Emmy Awards, winning once for his role in the television movie The Temptations. Additionally, he has received several honors from the NAACP, including the Image Award for Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture for his role in Malcolm X.

Denzel Washington Net Worth

As of 2020, Denzel Washington’s net worth is estimated to be $250 million dollars. He has earned his wealth through a successful career in acting, directing, and producing.

Washington’s film debut came in 1977 with the film Wilma. Since then, he has starred in many popular films including A Soldier’s Story (1984), Cry Freedom (1987), Malcolm X (1992), The Pelican Brief (1993), Philadelphia (1993), The Preacher’s Wife (1996), Courage Under Fire (1996),Remember the Titans (2000), Training Day (2001), American Gangster (2007) Man on Fire (2004) and Flight (2012). In addition to his work in front of the camera, Washington has also directed films such as Fences (2016) and Antwone Fisher (2002). He has won two Academy Awards for Best Actor, for his roles in Glory (1989) and Training Day (2001).


Denzel Hayes Washington Jr. is an iconic figure in the entertainment industry, having achieved great successes throughout his career as an actor, producer and director. His net worth speaks volumes of his accomplishments, and he continues to be a source of inspiration for many aspiring actors. He has delivered some unforgettable performances – from historical dramas to crime thrillers – giving us one memorable performance after another. No matter what comes next for him, we can all agree that Denzel Hayes Washington Jr.’s name will remain etched in our memories forever.

Also read Bo Burnham Net Worth 2022

Related Posts